Veekay contests Grosjean for first IndyCar win at Indianapolis · RaceFans

Veekay contests Grosjean for first IndyCar win at Indianapolis · RaceFans

A first-time race winner was crowned for the third time this season, with a fifth different winner in as many races in the IndyCar series in 2021 – when 20-year-old Rinus VeeKay celebrated his first career win at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and won the Indianapolis Grand Prix on Saturday before Pole winner Romain Grosjean.

Grosjean led the field away from the front row, led 44 laps in the first half of the race and surpassed his 10-year career in Formula 1. But it followed the second window of pit stops, in which VeeKay started in seventh, he held his own at the top Field. VeeKay made his second pit stop on lap 36 and undercut Grosjean by seven laps.

With his used set of alternative compound tires up to temperature and the loss of Grosjean, who had to work much harder to bring Takuma Sato down a lap than he would have liked, Veekay could easily find his way past Grosjean In On lap 49 he took the lead in the race for the first time. VeeKay glanced at three blistering stints on the red sidewall tire and never looked back. He took his first career win with a margin of 4.95 seconds.

Grosjean took pole and led more than half of the race. With this win, Ed Carpenter Racing took its first victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and ended a winless drought of almost five years since Josef Newgarden triumphed for them at Iowa Speedway in 2016. VeeKay becomes only the third driver from the Netherlands to win in IndyCar, succeeding Arie Luyendyk and Robert Doornbos, the youngest Dutch IndyCar winner – back at the 2007 Champ Car Grand Prix in Mont-Tremblant.

Grosjean had to settle for second place, the first podium in his young IndyCar career. This is Grosjean’s best single-seater result since second place at the 2013 United States Grand Prix and his first podium since the 2015 Belgian Grand Prix.

Barber Motorsports Park winner Álex Palou finished third, scooping his third career podium and fourth of the season ahead of Newgarden. Graham Rahal completed the top 5 in a good recovery ride after suffering minor damage on one lap. In the first round, Conor Daly was stranded in the grass. Daly, who started sixth, was eliminated after 50 laps due to damage caused by contact with Simon Pagenaud.

Rinus Veekay, carpenter, IndyCar, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, 2021Carpenter celebrated his first win in five years. It was also a bitter day for Jack Harvey, who was Grosjean’s closest challenger early in the race – until a blown tire and a subsequent drive-through penalty pushed him to 23rd place.

Simon Pagenaud, Alexander Rossi, rookie Scott McLaughlin, Scott Dixon and Marcus Ericsson completed the top ten finishes, with Dixon maintaining his lead in the championship standings with 13 points in the time trial for the 105th round of the Indianapolis 500 in two weeks. Palou holds second place in the points, ahead of Newgarden in third place, Patricio O’Ward – who finished 15th today – and fourth place in the table, Rahal fifth. With his first win, VeeKay moved five places to sixth place in front of the table.

Juan Pablo Montoya made his first IndyCar start in four years with McLaren SP, finishing 21st, one lap behind, three places ahead of seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, who finished 24th.

Display | Become a RaceFans supporter and Ad-free

Race result

position driver Round
1 Rinus Veekay 85
2 Romain Grosjean 85
3 Alex Palou 85
4th Josef Newgarden 85
5 Graham Rahal 85
6th Simon Pagenaud 85
7th Alexander Rossi 85
8th Scott McLaughlin 85
9 Scott Dixon 85
10 Marcus Ericsson 85
11 Willpower 85
12th Ryan Hunter-Reay 85
13th Colton Herta 85
14th Ed Jones 85
fifteen Patricio O’Ward 85
16 Takuma Sato 85
17th Felix Rosenqvist 85
18th James Hinchcliffe 85
19th Sebastien Bourdais 84
20th Dalton had to 84
21 Juan Pablo Montoya 84
22nd Charlie Kimball 84
23 Jack Harvey 84
24 Jimmie Johnson 84
25th Conor Daly 50

Display | Become a RaceFans supporter and Ad-free

Driver championship top 10

position driver total
1 Scott Dixon 176
2 Alex Palou 163
3 Josef Newgarden 148
4th Patricio O’Ward 146
5 Graham Rahal 137
6th Rinus VeeKay 135
7th Simon Pagenaud 130
8th Scott McLaughlin 123
9 Willpower 118
10 Colton Herta 117


Search all IndyCar items

Share this RaceFans article with your network: